The Planted Tank Forum banner

Reginald's 40b

Tags
40b
7K views 34 replies 10 participants last post by  Reginald2 
#1 ·
This tank has been set up for about a month or so. It's cycled, but still has some "new tank" to it. So it's a little rough around the edges, I don't think I'm really going to touch it for a couple of months to let everything settle. This is also the first glass tank that I've had (other than my pico) since I was about ten or so.

It's a 40b 3*39 T5HO (but two are only on for a few minutes a day so most of the time it's just 1 bulb)

CO2 injected (no bubble counter and I really have no idea if I'm doing that part right).

Eco-complete with a bit o' dirt on the bottom layer.

Eheim 2217 for filtration.

The plants are not all in the right places due to some poorish planning on my part. A couple of the plants are collected, some bought here and some have been with me for many moons. There are a couple of species I've never tried before and I'm looking forward to seeing them grow.

See less See more
#4 ·
Sad news: After the appearance of staghorn, I fiddled with the CO2 (I don't have a bubble counter and really have no idea how much I was putting in) and gassed the fish.

I lost a fish and assumed that he jumped, but I'm guessing he became a little ammonia spike instead.:angel:

I then freaked out and adjusted the CO2, with no way to tell what my base level was, backed off in fear. Then had to try and blind dial a needle valve to an inline diffuser (real hard to look at that one and tell what's going on).

These pictures are from a couple of days before the incident.

Views from my chair:

#7 · (Edited)
I need an adult

So,

The tank has been plugging away for a few years now. actually I moved and had to move the tank which (went fairly smoothly). When I moved it had to move the filter to the opposite side and thus adjust the 'scape. Which brings us to today. My scape has disappeared.