Noob needs ideas/comments - 35G. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-31-2005, 09:25 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Noob needs ideas/comments - 35G.

Hi, this is my first attempt at a planted and here's a progression of it. I could use some aquascaping ideas/comments.

Updated 24 March 05:

Last edited by Cruise Control; 03-24-2005 at 04:02 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-31-2005, 10:32 AM

Not too shabby for a first planted tank! Whats the time frame in the above pictures?
Looks like the plants are doing great.

The right side... feels... lonely. Except for the big ugly filter going down the back.
Cover that thing up with some tall plant. I'd use the visually dense plant just left
of center.

I guess I'd basically repeat the left side on the right, but way smaller. 1/4th the size.
(Is that grass in front of the driftwood the same as the background right?)

Lookin' good though - nice job!
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-31-2005, 03:25 PM

PTrader: (7/100%)
That would work if he wanted to change it to a u-shaped, but I think the "island on the left" is a find lay out. My suggestions are going to be based on this lay out, but can be applied to a u-shape as well.

There are 2 things that immediately come to mind when looking at this tank:

--The naked wood takes too much attention

--The mid-ground is weak.

The first problem is the more blatant one-- without any plants on it, the wood's warm color completely takes attention away from the plants. Planting ferns and anubias on the wood will fix this problem; especially anubias, whose dark green will help to integrate the wood with the rest of the piece, and make the viewer draw more attention to the more brightly colored plants. Leave some of the wood bear-- your goals are to reach integration, while creating more contrasting elements. Right now the wood seems completely out of place.