dtum's Flora 8 gallon tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-02-2011, 11:36 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
dtum's Flora 8 gallon tank

Hi everyone,

I've been reading this forum for a few weeks and am very much impressed with the knowledge and camaraderie amongst the users.

This is my first attempt at setting up a planted tank. I've had one 30 gallon 10 years ago, since then have moved on to cichlids and recently have sold my six footer 125g frontosa tank due to real estate constraints. One thing that I did realize is how much I miss this hobby, so now I am getting more into the planted life.

Got this flora tank:

This is what it looked like a day ago (I decided to wash the substrate a little), poor move.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-02-2011, 11:43 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

I was quite disappointed with a stock filter, it was very loud. First trip to the LFS was not successful - I was not able to reproduce the sound (too much ambient noise). Second trip was better, but they've replaced only the top part, which is slightly smaller than the one I had before, so now the bottom part is a bit loose and will come off any time I touch the filter.

Decided to go with a digital thermometer.

post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-03-2011, 12:27 AM
Prodigious Plant Pundit

PTrader: (44/100%)
I really love my Ebi. Good luck with this tank. My filter rattles too, but I kind of fixed it by taking out the impeller, sanding it down (the fins' edges) and putting it back in. It is MUCH quieter now. Good luck.

"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." -- Steve Jobs

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-03-2011, 12:27 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (7/100%)