Katie's Southeast Asian Biotope - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-27-2011, 02:36 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)
Katie's Southeast Asian Biotope

Hi Everyone,

I have been keeping planted tanks for the past four years. I moved a few months ago and sold off most of my tanks, and have had the rest of them broken down in the storage room waiting until I had time to start them up again. Well this week I decided to try to get a couple of them going again. I decided to do a southeast asian biotope with this tank because I have never attempted a true biotope before and I thought it would be fun to try something new. Here are the specs:

Tank: Mr. Aqua 7.5g Bowfront
Substrate: Mix of black sand and EcoComplete
Lighting: Hampton Bay 27 Watt Desk Lamp
Filter: Marina S10 Slim Filter
Heater: None since I live in SoCal and temps don't drop very low here
Hardscape: Ghost Wood
CO2: Excel
Ferts: SeaChem NPK and Equilibrium
Temp: 74 degrees

Flora:
6 pots of C. Parva
C. Lutea
Unidentified crypts in the back right corner. If anyone knows what they are please let me know.
C. Spiralis

Fauna:
10 Boraras Brigittae

I am planning on eventually adding a pair of chocolate gouramis and a group of shrimp (possibly crystal reds, though not decided yet). I need for the tank to get much more established first.

I added the rasboras yesterday and they are not colored up completely yet, but are doing well and are eating and swimming actively.

I am still trying to decide what background to add to the tank. I usually go with black, but I am afraid that the chocolate gouramis will just blend right into the background when I add them. Any ideas?