Tim's 40g custom rimless high tech setup - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 61 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 02:56 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/67%)
Tim's 40g custom rimless high tech setup

Hi everybody, this is my first attempt at a high tech setup, and when I saw this beautiful tank on craigslist, I had to jump on the opportunity. The initial setup was a bit rough, with leaks in my plumbing, having to re-silicon the tank, having to re-do the plumbing, and so on and so forth, But NOW it is up and running, with everything functioning properly. Here are the specs-

Lighting- 2x 55w power compact custom hood/retrofit

Filtration- Modified Herbie design with a 10g submerged sump and lots of ceramic rings, with a mag 5 return.

C02- Custom regulator (built by oldpunk), with a fabco needle valve, beverage factory body, check valve, clippard solenoid, and ADA 30mm pollen diffuser.

Substrate- 5 Bags of Eco-Complete

Fertilizing- EI dosing regime

Plants-
HC
various crypts
peacock moss
java fern
narrow sagg
corkscrew valls
red ozelot sword
kleiner bar sword
anubias
water lettuce
fissidens fontanus
flame mossz

I plan on stocking more stem plants and mosses, just haven't found exactly what I want yet, and I'm waiting for my tank to fully cycle as well as some of the stuff to fill in a bit.

Livestock
1 serpae tetra
2 oto cats
20 RCS
planning on adding 2 discus for an existing tank eventually, maybe once the RCS get larger

Please let me know what you think, and feel free to give me any advice. I'm still undecided on wether or not I want shrimp, and I'm trying to find a perfect piece of driftwood, but this one will have to do for now. I'm looking for advice on what type of schooling fish, whether getting shrimp is a good idea, criticism on the scape, which stem plants do well with discus, if I can fit 3 discus, and if there's anything I'm doing wrong. TIA- Tim Lyons

Last edited by TLyons; 06-03-2011 at 02:08 AM.