Laura's 29g planted... HELP! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 67 (permalink) Old 03-27-2011, 05:33 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (3/100%)
Laura's 29g planted... HELP!

Hello Everybody! I've been stalking the forum for a few months off and on... but I think I'm finally ready to start digging in. I've got a 29g tank that I would like to set up as a peaceful community tank... I'm thinking some guppies, maybe a platy or two, and some RCS...

Right now, I literally only have the tank. I'm looking at the following
24" T5 HO system 4x 24W 6500K
A 3-STAGE CANISTER AQUARIUM FILTER FOR FRESH/SALT WATER I found on ebay (the white ones...) says its good for 30-75 gallons
I'm still debating on the substrate. I'm looking at either soil or soil and eco-complete layered...
As for co2... I'm thinking of starting with a DIY, just so I can get everything started, and then maybe converting to pressurized down the road.

The lighting and filter are both pretty much steals as far as I can tell... But then again, I don't have a clue what I'm talking about lol. I

I also have the D. Wastad book on hand... I really need help here... I am so lost!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 67 (permalink) Old 03-27-2011, 05:47 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (68/100%)
Welcome to the site.

I just set up another dirt tank.
The dirt tank set up starts in post #4
https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ta...k-warning.html

My oldest is posted here too.
This thread is my soon to be 2yr old tank that Diana W. posted to be a winner on APC as being done right.
(got a giggle outta that)
https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/lo...-soil-sub.html

Hope some of the NPT questions go away if you check these out. Takes a lot to answer all that you've asked.
(but you came to the right site in my opinion.)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it