• 4 Post By misterdom
  • 1 Post By misterdom

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-26-2020, 05:55 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
92g Newbie Reef Tank Conversion

Hello everyone!

About 3 months ago we decided to let go of our 55g fancy goldfish tank and go with a larger tank. My daughter has been keeping a few betta tanks in her room with low tech plants. As for me I'm a complete noob at planted high tech tanks and learning as I go. The Planted Tank has been an amazing resource for information and inspiration! I appreciate any and all constructive criticism or tips. This has been a fun start to the journey of aquascaping and we are enjoying the ride so far.

The trip starts with a 92g Red Sea Reefer 450xl tank that we found on craigslist. The tank needed quite a bit of work and I should have done more research before pulling the trigger. Kind of an expensive lesson to learn but hey, life is short and this won't be our last tank. I had to order all new o-rings and a couple of the pipes broke when we were loading the tank into our car. I didn't realize what a beast it would be to move. Sadly, we also managed to chip a corner when we got it home but it has held water and the break is not near the seal. With its first bump out of the way it was off to procure the rest of the equipment. We'll be running the stock sump tank for filtration.

Ingredients List
Twinstar 1200sp pendant light
S2 Pro dimmer
UNS light bars
Hydor 1600D pump
Nilocg rexx griggs reactor
10lb co2 tank
Custom regulator from bettatail
flowmeter instead of bubble counter
Tunze osmolator ATO
Auqa Gadget 5g reservoir
glass drop checker
HMA titanium 300 watt heater and analog controller
3" Poret foam in 10/20/30 ppi
ADA Amazonia reg x 5 bags
ADA Amazonia powder x 1 bag
Seiryu stones
spider wood

Bettatail's work

We really fell in love with this wood and stone at the LFS