• 1 Post By ChemGuyEthan
  • 1 Post By mourip
  • 2 Post By ChemGuyEthan

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-28-2020, 03:33 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Grant's 14 Gal IM Fusion Peninsula

Hi all,

This is my first post here, and I'm introducing my new tank. I've been planning a large reef tank for a number of years now, but I live in a pre-war apartment in NYC that I'm sure can't hold the weight, and I'm sure I'll move within a year or two so the set-up and tear-down just doesn't seem worth it. It's been a dream of mine to have a tank like that since I was a child, so if I'm going to do it, I want to do it properly.

Enter my new planted aquarium. What drew me to reef tanks was the idea of an ecosystem existing in this glass box. Something that I could build and maintain, but that in many ways could also maintain itself. I purchased Diana Walstad's book and devoured it cover to cover. I have a PhD in microbiology, so the science of it all really excited me.

I had every other type of freshwater tank as a child - Malawi Cichlids, Tropical fish, Mudskippers, a Kribensis species tank and a turtle. But this was a new endeavor. I remember as a kid in the late 90s that we would buy live plants from the LFS and sure enough they'd simply die over the course of a few weeks. So I'm amped to make plants a focus of this tank.

And now for the tank and it's contents:
  • Innovative Marine NUVO Fusion Pro 14 Peninsula tank with APS stand
  • IM MightyJet DC return pump
  • Kessil A80 with gooseneck
  • Eheim Jager 50W heater
  • CO2 ART Pro-SE regulator with inline diffuser

I placed a ~1" layer of potting soil at the bottom, topped with CaribSea Eco-Complete. I aquascaped with Seiryu stone and driftwood.

I set the tank up on 07/15/20, and planted it right away with a Beginner Plant 15-pack from Buce Plant. The shipment contained the following:
  • 3x Anubias Nana
  • 3x Anubias Nana Petite
  • 3x Cryptocoryne Wendtii Green