20 Gallon Long Just Started - The Planted Tank Forum
 15Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-24-2020, 08:24 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Talking 20 Gallon Long Just Started

I am very new to planted tanks so I hope I am doing this right!

I just got water in the tank about 1 hour ago so I am waiting for the clarity to clear. My plate for the back splash did not work out so great. I did wash out the substrate a little but I figure if the soil I got was high in nutrients, I shouldn't wash it out too much. I boiled my driftwood for about 3 hours and got most of the tannin out. I have used Prime and API quick start to get things rolling.

Being new substrate (Fluval and Flourite) should I put a dose of flourish in the tank or is the nutrients from the soil good enough? I've read on here that the soil really doesn't have much nutrients. At least that is what I think I have read.

I have a Current USA LED light that I recycled from my reef tank a few years back. How many hours should I be running the light? Is there a difference in running the white light alone rather than the white and blue it has on it? I like the day cycle on it where it automatically goes from just blue in the morning to white and blue mid-day and then back to blue at night. Is this okay to have?

Anyone have a good source for driftwood? Mine I got from amazon and it is kinda pathetic. Ideas for plants too please. I have dwarf grass, and monte carlo, and anubias for now. I am planning on getting neon tetras, cherry shrimp and cory cats. Can I get a recommended number for these animals for my tank. Also can I get snails or are they considered nuisance animals in planted tanks? Not too many options for LFS around here so I try to order online. Any reputable online stores you recommend?

I think that covers most of my questions for now. Thank you!

Last edited by RocksBucks; 02-03-2020 at 10:35 PM. Reason: Title was misleading
Sponsored Links