The feel-good 20 gallon - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By GeorgeTheGuppy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-08-2019, 08:42 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
The feel-good 20 gallon

Let me start by saying that since I've joined this forum, I've had a great time reading through others' journals. I read through much of Burr's journal on his Dutch tank, and I was totally blown away. Then I'd read through other journals, where people would write stuff like "I'm pretty much a total amateur, this is nowhere near as good as so-and-so's tank."

Well, this is called the feel-good 20 gallon because I'm here to make those people feel good about themselves.

First off, I'm a total noob. I've forgotten the names of half the plants in my tank, and I am pretty bad at aquascaping. Second, this tank has had a rough life. I headed off to college about a year after I set it up, so for 2/3 of past 4 years it's been taken care of by my dad. He's a reef guy (I am too, but I reef vicariously through him), so his ability to take care of my tank is pretty limited. He basically doses ferts, feeds, and changes CO2. I'm grateful for this, but that means that every time I come back from school, the tank is in pretty rough shape. To make things worse, I had an awful bladderwort outbreak, culminating in me completely redoing the tank in December. I threw away most of my plants because they were too filled with the stuff, so I left a very rough and rather bare tank behind me.

I came back for the summer to an equally rough and bare tank covered in hair algae. Yesterday I took everything out of the tank, cleaned everything, clipped/pulled the billion aerial roots off my stemmed plants (jeez, that takes forever), and replanted it all.

Now it looks less bad, but it's still pretty sparse, the plants aren't very healthy, and the water is quite cloudy.

Hardware/maintenance:
Tank: 20H Aqueon
Light: BeamsWork DA FSPEC 24", 11hs/day