First Planted Tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 11:37 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
First Planted Tank

Hi guys, newbie here to planted tanks. I do have tanks setup now which are biotope or growout tank. I basely keep wild discus and wild altum angels. I have also kept smaller SA cichlids, cories and tetras. The tank I will be working with is a 50 gallon tank which is basically 36x15x20 inches tall or so. First I need to reattach the background. It's a background from Universal Rocks and silicone does not seen to work with it. . After that I will be looking into lighting and substrate. Thinking low tech with a sand substrate and a SA theme.

I was browsing YouTube and found this
. I would not mind something like this .

Pat
sittinglynx likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 03:09 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

What lighting would you guys recommend for a low-light tank? or do the plant choices need to be considered first and I know tank height is also a consideration.
Pat
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 06:56 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
@jeffkrol can help with lighting.

180 g. low tech w/ wild South American cichlids, corydoras eques, and African Congo riverine tetras.
60 g. low tech w/ F1 Alenquer pair /Stendker "Tefe" discus and wild Altum Angels
30 g. low tech w/ Wild Tucano tetras
30 g. low-tech African Biotope

post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 07:57 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Second Hand Pat View Post
What lighting would you guys recommend for a low-light tank? or do the plant choices need to be considered first and I know tank height is also a consideration.
Pat