My First Aquarium - The Planted Tank Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By day10
  • 1 Post By day10
  • 1 Post By Streetwise

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-05-2019, 05:25 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
My attempt at a natural planted tank courtesy of my limited understanding of Walstads instructions.

The tanks is a 20g long, I have a heater and a UV powerhead. I used miracle grow and a gravel cap. The light is a cheap nicrew, I didn’t want anything too powerful. I’m prepared to replace it, though I hope I don’t have to.

The plants are from the big chains nearby and a local pond. I’m hoping the moss glued to the clay pots will cover them. I plan to try a red plant in the back left corner and add floating plants. There are 3 Amano shrimp, a Nerite snail and I’ve seen a 1 random snail from plantings. I plan to add fish soon but I’ve just setup over the last couple of days.

I’m open to advice but be gentle I’m new to all of this. I babysat 3 cichlid tanks for a month during a friends move and finally understood the appeal of aquariums.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0F4E8AB0-3BBA-457E-8872-FE8203B611C3_1559776819910.jpeg
Views:	28
Size:	3.03 MB
ID:	882459  

tredford likes this.

Last edited by day10; 06-05-2019 at 11:20 PM. Reason: Re-Uploaded photo after forum move.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-05-2019, 05:45 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
I like the way your tank looks. Its fun with the pots and moss. Good job. You have taken on quite the challenge- Walstad set-ups can be tricky. I would take the time to get familiar with this type of setup, keep reading and getting familiar with your plants, lighting, etc...
And only then add fish to the equation.

Do you understand the nitrogen cycle?