• 1 Post By TheDukeAnumber1
  • 1 Post By TheDukeAnumber1
  • 1 Post By somewhatshocked

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-03-2019, 02:25 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
100g Summer breeding pond log

Although I have been in the hobby casually for a while this is my first attempt at pond breeding. I am a white cloud fan and wanted to try to breed them this summer in a tub pond since I've read it's a fairly easy method to breed white clouds. I'm posting this log in hopes to get advice and recommendations and to share my experience.

I setup this 100 gallon stock tank in early May. I put in a dozen or so pieces of pre-soaked cholla wood and a 3d printed truncated octahedron for structure. I live on a personal well in IL so I filled the tote, dropped in some established media and a wonder shell, and called it good. The next day I added 7 gold white clouds and 8 regular ones. I had a 50watt heater running through most of may to take the edge off of the lows. The pond is right near a window so I can feed and check water parameters without even going outside.

I'm using chicken wire to keep out critters and hopefully dragon flies. I'm not using any filtration but I am running two air stones, one on each side on the pond.

So my attempt with getting the giant duckweek to grow has failed. I want to use it to improve water quality and provide cover but when I put new plants in it just slowly turnes red and isn't multiplying like it does in my indoor tanks. I have all the required fertilizer salts to run a hydroponic system and I'm getting tempted to mix some up and dump it in but at the same time I don't want an aglae explosion either. This pond has had many of those helicopter seeds drop into the water but the fish and water seem fine atm.

A couple weeks ago I got fry, some gold and some regular, although the gold fry seem to be disappearing. I wonder if the parents are eating them.