48g first planted tank (my spiral into madness) - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-03-2019, 11:52 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
48g first planted tank (my spiral into madness)

So after about a year of thinking about attempting a planted tank, I've finally done it.

Its already set up and 13 days in, no fish or anything yet just plants. weird stuff is happening.

I wanted to do a journal (mainly) for myself to look back on when everything is is working and everybody is happy.

The thing that sparked this was spotting (what I think) are detritus worms and then tiny snails which are so small I wasn't sure if they were snails or not THEn down the end of the tank I see silky web looking stuff everywhere and spot what is definitely a snail.

I don't know, I'm very new to this SOS

http://imgur.com/a/juZI7i4
Greggz likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 08:45 PM
Algae Grower

Good luck. I'm trying this for the first time as well, although you have about a month on me, looks like. Will be following.
Greggz likes this.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-18-2019, 10:45 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Thank you! Good luck to you as well

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-19-2019, 04:07 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

So 28 days in now. Had quite the spike in ammonia (8ppm) for a bit but it's now at 0ppm but my problem now is nitrite (5ppm) and has been for a little bit now , and bubbles from my substrate causing an oily film on the surface of the water.

But my plants seem to be doing well and there is new growth despite some algae. Some of the ambulia had a bit of a moment after I bought a wavemaker that was way to powerfull and pulled some of them up but after replanting them theyve got lots of new growth.

Is the nitrite from not enough surface agitation? Or oxygen? Also could the bubbles be causing nitrite? Who knows not me!