75g Build - First major planted endeavor - The Planted Tank Forum
 63Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 77 (permalink) Old 12-24-2018, 02:19 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
75g Build - First major planted endeavor

Hey there, so been a long time lurker and just ingesting as much information as I can but I am looking for some help to give myself the best chance of success. So first off a bit of background, I have been keeping aquariums now for about 5-6 years and about 3 ish years ago I dabbled into the planted tank world. I've been able to keep a low tech tank with beginner plants pretty easily up until now. In smaller tanks such as my 10 gallon and 29 gallon. That tank I used a Finnex planted + 24/7 and eco complete and the last few months even started down the CO2 road but plants never really took off but didn't really die either.

Well I noticed some pretty bad bubbling in the silicone on my 29 gallon tank and it's xmas time and I managed to score a really cheap new 75 gallon. So I am going to be documenting my build and progression of the tank but I wanted to get some opinions and suggestions.

Tank: Standard Aqueon 75 gallon
Stand: I am building that this week, pretty simple I will try to take some pictures to show that progression.
Light: I am looking for some advice, like I said I've used a Finnex planted + 24/7 previously but didn't see too much growth except my low light plants like anubias, swords, java ferns etc.
I am looking for a good fixture that isn't a complete budget breaker. Some of what I was looking at please let me know thoughts:
- Beamswork is this enough output?
- 4ft 4 bulb T5
- Fluval Planted 3.0?
Substrate: As I mentioned before I've used Eco-complete previously but I think something else may provide more benefit to the plants. I don't want a huge ammonia leech as I will be migrating my current 29g into the 75 pretty quickly. I was thinking on of these:
- Fluval Stratum
- Aquasoil