• 1 Post By Hamizan Bmy
  • 1 Post By Hamizan Bmy
  • 2 Post By Hamizan Bmy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-23-2018, 10:45 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
First 10 gallon tank

This is my first post. I really wanted to start a planted tank project after my wife bought me a 40gallon tank 2 years ago. I have been keeping Discus for 2 years. Prior to start my first planted tank, I did a lot of readings, watching guide videos from Youtube.

I decided to start with a smaller 10 gallon tank as I am not willing to spend a lot of money on my first planted tank, considering I have almost no experience with planted tank. I bought my stuff 1 item by 1 item. Hooked up with a friend of mine for a custom made 10 gallon tank. then a week after, I bought ADA aquasoil. Every week, I bought new equipment, Pressurized CO2, Lightings, Filtration.

After I have everything, I went to my local pet store and bought whatever plants I see are nice without knowing what their name are and set them up.

I am not sure how Im going to arrange the photos. but here are their photos after a lot of rescaping.

Day 1:- looking back at it, I dont even know what I was doing, Started with AR, Java fern, Cryptocoryne and Monte Carlo carpet.

Day 2:- Shorten the AR stem after reading and asking suggestions from reddit.

Day 28:- got myself new Rotala Wallichi and AR mini. oh boy I was really having trouble taking care of RW.

Day 42:- still unhappy with how it looked, got myself Rotala Rotundifolia, Ludwigia Repens.

Day 45: Testing new lighting that I got, Algae took over the aquarium, Amanos loving them so much and damaged the AR leaves to the point of no return. Decided to removed them

Day 50:- Frustrated with what happened, went to another hobbyist and got new plants, planted them without thinking how they will looked like after they grow.