80 Gallon - First High Tech Tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 20Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 12-20-2018, 07:10 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
Send a message via Skype™ to Patriot
80 Gallon - First High Tech Tank

I'm trying my hand at aquascaping for the first time. I usually go with the jungle type because it's easy and low maintenance, but I want something guest will love when they come over. I've never used Manzanita wood before so I'm excited.

I'm planning on ordering more wood as these pieces were a bit smaller than expected. I also need to get more sand to build a small slope on the left side of the tank. Not sure if the BDBS will keep it's shape so I'll probably have to use dividers. I will check the local store to see what rocks they have.

I have plenty of crypts left over from when I tore the previous tank down, so I need to figure out how to incorporate them into the scape. Maybe I can plant them between the rocks to fill in space?
I'm wanting to try my hand at high tech this time. I have the fertilizers, CO2 system, and lighting (I think), so i just need the plants. I currently have a 4 bulb Catalina Aquarium fixture and a Finnex planted plus, but I'm thinking of getting a hydroponic fixture since they seem to provide more light (better ballast?). Before I get a new light fixture, I will need to find a hanging kit that will attach to the tank since I can't hang from the roof. I'm hoping such an item exist. That would also let me adjust the high of the fixture to control light intensity.

I need new T5HO bulbs as mine are 3 years old. I would love to add a color combination that would give great colors. Maybe a red bulb that Iíve seen used on this site.
I need to put together a plant list too. I would really love to add red plants this time around.