• 3 Post By natemcnutty
  • 5 Post By natemcnutty
  • 2 Post By natemcnutty

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-30-2018, 07:02 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
Nate's 29g Bedroom Tank

Hey everyone, I'm so excited to finally be starting this. A huge thanks to everyone that has contributed to this wonderful community - I've learned so much from you guys! A special thanks to @burr740 for his micro thread as I probably wouldn't have started this without Joe giving me that extra push to do a journal.

First, a little bit about me, and then to the fun stuff - the tanks

I currently live in the Portland area with my wife and two little kids who seem to be sick more often than they are not. I work as an Information Security Architect which keeps me pretty busy, and the rest of our time is spent volunteering for our church, supporting our foster care families, and other services within our community. If you happen to live in the area and are passionate about making an impact in our community, hit me up with a PM! Also, I'm always ready to give away plants to anyone that happens to be in the area

On to the tank(s)... I currently have 6 active tanks, down from 9 over the summer, and I'm working on shutting down a couple more by the end of the year as we get more involved in other things. Hopefully that means I can focus more time and energy on the 29g in our bedroom. Other than that, I have a 20 long, a 10 gallon rimless, 2x 6 gallon Marineland Portraits in the garage and a Spec V at work. The Spec V and 10 gallon rimless will get a few highlights here and there in this thread, but the main focus will be the 29.

A quick list of details and history on the tank:

I set this up during the summer of 2017 to replace a 20 long that had a seam that looked like it could fail at any minute. The equipment that was brought over is as follows:

Lights: 1x Finnex 24/7 Planted Plus (original) for 8 hours per day