Vijay’s 75 Gallon High Tech Adventure - The Planted Tank Forum
 104Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 52 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 08:03 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Vijay’s 75 Gallon High Tech Adventure

I have been intending to start this journal for many months and finally get this going today. I hope that I will be able to learn from all the inputs that fellow hobbyists share and also share my own inputs, progress, etc.

To start with, let me tell a bit about my experience with fish keeping - I have been fascinated with fish keeping as early as being a 5 year old. I should thank my elder brother for introducing me to this hobby at that young age .

Back in those days, we had the typical fishes that most kids would have - Guppies, Platys and Gold fishes. We used to breed them and sell/give away the frys. Some where along the schooling years I got out of this hobby, but always knew that I will get back into it some day.

Early last year, my wife gifted me a 10 gallon tank thinking that I will be happy with a couple of small fishes in it. But she never thought that it would drive me back into fish keeping in a big way. She is still mad at herself for gifting me the 10 gallon .

Here I am a year and a half later with my 75 gallon high tech tank. This time though the passion has broadened to include growing healthy live plants and trying my hand at scaping.

Going through the journals of some of the successful hobbyists, watching endless YouTube videos and reading on the internet for many hours, I figured that starting off with a good setup to cover all the bases (filtration, CO2, plant mass, lights) is critical in a high tech setup. My equipment setup is as follows:

75 Gallon Marineland tank (4 feet in length) with Marinland stand
2 Fluval FX 6 filters with additional biomax media
Rex Grigg style CO2 reactor
10 lb CO2 tank
GLA CO2 regulator
2 Fluval 2.0 LEDs with Fluval WiFi controller
2 Aqueon Pro 250W heaters