20 gallon experimental - The Planted Tank Forum
 20Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 177 (permalink) Old 11-03-2018, 09:55 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
20 gallon experimental

Hey guys. This is going to be a "journal" I suppose, but with commentary being welcome! This tank is one big learning process for me since I'm fairly new to the hobby. I've been in it for about 15 months or so. Thankfully I have a lot of spare time on my hands so I've been able to constantly do research and up my game considerably (I hope!) in this one year.

Some history of the tank: It first got stuff transferred to it from a 10 gallon and before that it was only 5 gallons! Little did I know that a bigger tank was easier to keep! I just wanted to be sure I was really even into aquatics before I got a huge tank. Once I got to the 20, I had some success breeding cherry shrimp. Then there were leeches, which were a huge disaster. I put in dog dewormer, it killed all the snails and I think it sterilized my shrimp! They stopped breeding, I sold them not too long ago to someone else, and got a small but fresh batch of bloody mary shrimp! Then I started finally putting more snails in. This is about where the history ends and the present begins!

Presently, I have 22 ivory mystery snails. About 20 (maybe a bit less) bloody mary shrimp. 1 fresh water (of course) golden asian clam! That's it for livestock.

For plants, I've got a semi big Java fern, semi big cloud of Java moss, unknown crypts (Maybe you can identify them in the pictures I'll be posting later.), and now, as of yesterday, Dwarf hairgrass!

For equipment, I've got a sponge filter, a heater, a glass lid (to keep those darn mystery snails from escaping!), and a very mediocre LED light that I paid 17 bucks for.

On the way: Mineral balls, mineral stones, a big old 30 inch Beamswork LED light, some alder cones, and some more shrimp/snail food not that it really matters.