Fluval Spec V Journal! NOW a 20G High - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-22-2018, 11:01 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Cool Fluval Spec V Journal! NOW a 20G High

Hello all,

First a quick background on me. I've been keeping fish longer than I can remember. When I was just a toddler my dad had a saltwater tank. Since then I've had beta's, a Cichlid tank, multiple nano reef tanks, a 75G reef tank, a 40B reef tank. Now at 28 years old I've moved out into my own apartment with my S/O and wanted something small to get me back into the hobby.

I've always admired planted tanks. I find myself just watching those scenic planted tank videos on YouTube. Gives me this feeling of peace and serenity.

Now this is my first attempt at a planted so go easy on my subpar scape! If this goes well, I want to upgrade to a 40g in a few months.

On to the setup!

-Fluval Spec V (new version)
-Stock filtration/Stock lighting
-Aqueon 50W heater
-Fluval Startum

I'm using my tap water with dechlorinator/conditioner.

As of now the tank was setup with water flowing on 10/20. I've also added the plants right away. I went with the following:

-Littorella Uniflora
-Cryptocoryne Lucens (I think it's Lucens)
-Water Wisteria
-Marimo Moss Balls

Cycle:

As of today 10/22, the tank has just been running as is. I've only tossed a pinch of fish flakes in there for now. I have Ammonia on the way along with the API master kit arriving Wednesday.

I'll be doing a full fishless cycle. I never put so much thought in a cycle as I feel saltwater is easier to cycle. In most cases the live rock you put in to a salt water tank is enough to seed it with just a mini cycle at most.

Future Plans: