20long Planted Desk Build - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 07:23 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
20long Planted Desk Build

So this will be a setup of a couple weeks, taking my beta from a 5 gallon Fluval Chi to a 20 gallon long.

I have eco-complete substrate which I've never used before. Always used Amazonia which I've loved.
I hooked up my sunsun 375gph canister to it for some good filtration.
The shop light will be replaced within the next couple weeks with something better, I was hoping to get some suggestions from ya'll.
I am thinking medium light, fert with no CO2 as I do not have space for CO2 where it is.

The plan is for a carpet in the front that goes back about half way so it doesn't make my desk look crowded while sitting. Dwarf hair grass or Staurogyne Repens perhaps?
The hopes is to find a piece of drift wood that sits in the back and sticks out forward. If that makes sense. The carpet will transition into some blyxa japonica (maybe dwarf sag?)
and then finally into something like vallisneria?

Maybe you can picture what I am going for? low in the front... then tall in the back that potentially will hit the surface and go towards the front?
Typing outloud..

Anyway some suggestions on what plants to go with and lighting would be awesome!

Also should I cap the eco-complete or not?

Thanks guys and more pictures to follow.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	30771595_2194596087223445_852974589_o.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	76.8 KB
ID:	847553  

Name:	30185076_2194596103890110_634066475_n.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	44.2 KB
ID:	847561  

Name:	30185421_2194596380556749_1498566472_n.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	33.4 KB
ID:	847569  

-Zachary-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.