Grobbins 55 Gallon Rainbowfish Tank (Summer update 8/17/19)) - The Planted Tank Forum
 1212Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 539 (permalink) Old 04-13-2018, 11:46 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Grobbins 55 Gallon Rainbowfish Tank (Summer update 8/17/19))

Hi Everyone-

I am converting over from African Cichlids to a planted rainbowfish community tank, and wanted to share a bit of what I have been doing, as well as welcome feedback and hope to continue to learn in the process. I have been keeping fish for well over 15 years at this point, but made the splash into planted tanks with a 29 gallon 6 months ago. Anyways, this is about the 55 gallon, so here are some of the specs.

Tank: Marineland 55 gallon with custom build stand (stand 4 years old now...)

Filtration: SunSun 303B canister with a SunSun 603 pre-filter canister with the mechanical filtration using spray bar, SunSun 304B with lava rock and drilled out spray bar.
Filter Media: 2L of MarinePure Balls and 2L of Matrix.

Substrate: Black Diamond Blasting Sand, little less than 2 bags (~80 lbs)

CO2: DIY cerges reactor, 10 lb tank, running off Aquatek regulator supplying two tanks at 40 PSI. Dwyer flow meter running ~25 cc/min

Ferts: Dry dosing from GLA, Macros 1x weekly frontloading (calculated for 45 gallons), Micros 3x weekly of DIY custom mix (from Burr740) for

Weekly Dose (ppm)- (This is not updated- see most recent dosing sheet in other posts)

NO3 25
N 5.65
K 39.05
Mg 8
S 18.7
PO4 8
P 2.61
dGH 1.84

Fe 0.6
Mn 0.15
B 0.15
Zn 0.15
Mo 0.00525
Cu 0.006
Ni 0.0015

Lighting: Beamswork DA FSPEC 48' and Beamswork DHL 6500K 1W 48'. 105 PAR at substrate with glass lids on

Plants:

staurogyne repens
micranthemum monte carlo
Helanthium bolivianum "angustifolius"
Myriophyllum Red Stem
Limnophila Aromatica "Mini"
Pogostemon Kimberley
Clinopodium brownie
Limnophila Indica (Ambulia)
Limnophila Rugosa
Bacopa Colorata
Nymphoides hydrophylla 'Taiwan'

Stocking:

7 Boesmani Rainbow