2Likes
  • 4 Post By Minimoo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-12-2018, 03:14 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Custom LOTR theme tank

Heyas,

So I'm very slowly making a little (20L) Bag End replica tank for my friend for his birthday. This is my clay model, needs a little tidying but I'll do that when my moulding silicone arrives

The plan is to mould it, cast it in resin, paint in acrylic then seal with a little more resin. I will let it cure for about 2 weeks completely whilst I dry start growing some dwarf hair grass for the scape. It will take a few weeks but hopefully I will be able to mould it this time next week.

This is my first time doing this, so I'm starting small. If it works out I have plans/ideas for other themed scapes (The Hobbit, Harry Potter and Avatar). Fingers crossed!

Questions and suggestions welcome!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180408_123049.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	85.8 KB
ID:	844890  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20180408_123055.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	89.1 KB
ID:	844898  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-12-2018, 01:09 PM
Algae Grower

Awesome...ive kind of wanted to do a Zelda themed tank but havent gotten there yet.

1) Id maybe get rid of the tree up top and just get a mini bonsai tree...will add to the realism of the scene.

2) the negative space on the second tier (where the stone walkway and flat part to the left is) id dig the clay deep between the stones and the fence and the house. This will allow you to add some aquasoil in there and grow a low carpeting plant. Seems you already have a nice cavity on the first tier behind the fence for this.

looks good so far. I'm assuming its a solid chunk of clay? would have been cool if the house was hollow and you could put a dull warm LED inside so you get light out of the windows at night.

just my .02

Vin
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-12-2018, 01:47 PM Thread Starter