Newbie Starting, Pics and questions. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 01-07-2011, 09:54 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newbie Starting, Pics and questions.

HI, so I've had this 10 gallon that I have had for over 6 years. Stocked it with simple things like Tetras, Guppys, regular Comet goldfish and other types of fish. I just recently heard about Petco's $1 1 Gallon sale and decided to get into the whole planted scene. I plan on picking up a 20L for this area.

Its 8 feet long and around 2.5 feet across. I plan on putting a 20L there or anything you guys suggest? Also for my personal room, I plan on putting my old 10 gallon on my cabinet.

With my old 10 gallon tank. Depending on the condition I may pick up a new tank.

I'm limited to a Petco which is really close to my house and an Asian fish store that is a little sketchy. Not too much time to spend on it as I am a poor college student who just started a waiter job.

I have some questions to ask, forgive me if they seem very basic. 1. So I understand the process of setting up the tank goes like this, Get tank, light, filter, heater and etc. Establish substrate base, put gravel on top. Fill it desired plants and fill with water enough to let them grow and establish themselves.

The questions I have are:
Do I have to ever replace the substrate?
I don't have enough time to start up with Co2 just yet, so is there anyway to maintain the plants with just lights and supplements?
What lighting system should I use That will help with plant growth but won't be too much?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 48 (permalink) Old 01-08-2011, 08:30 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Update

So I got a Aqueon 20 Gallon tank, a Marineland Penguin Power Filter 100 and a put in some old wood we had with an Arrowana tank.