Deciding to plant my 180G properly (and change to Rainbows) - The Planted Tank Forum
 71Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 65 (permalink) Old 03-04-2018, 09:37 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Deciding to plant my 180G properly (and change to Rainbows)

Okay, after a few little posts here and there, I've decided to give my 6 Ft (with a 4ft Sump) a remodel.

I'm new to plants, and have previously had mainly ornaments, a bit of driftwood that came with plants attached, and a few plants i got on sale locally...

After seeing some of the masterpieces on here, I've decided to try and up my game...

It all started when I needed to catch a few of my fish that I was re-homing a few days ago, and ended up having to completely gut my whole tank to get them out .. Everything except substrate... So all plants and ornaments came out.

After I caught the fish that I needed to catch, I started redesigning my tank.. I've always wanted more greenery, so decided to bring in my plants from my breeder tanks (My L Plecos dont care much for them anyway), and decided to really pack out the tank with plants..

Big Jim (My 14 Inch Plecostomus) however has not been kind to the new plants and uproots about a dozen plants a day some of which are completely destroyed (Some of these plants are 50+ cm plants with extensive root systems buried deep in the Iron Sand).. So it has been decided he has to go... a friend is taking him off my hands tomorrow, which is a little sad, but he'll be happy with them anyway.

Not long ago, I added a few Goyter River Rainbowfish, and while they're fairly colourless juveniles, I've been checking out Gregzz setup and absolutely love them, So have decided that now that my enormous pleco is going, i'll have plenty of available bio-load to make this a proper rainbowfish tank. (Have since ordered a heap more different varieties that should arrive next week).