New 55 gal - The Planted Tank Forum
 31Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 60 (permalink) Old 02-26-2018, 05:45 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New 55 gal

Hi everyone,

I just found out that my birthday gift will be a 55 gallon tank and I am so excited.

I am new to the hobby, but I am an Environmental Scientist by trade, so I understand a lot about water chemistry, plants and bio loading that I am really enjoying putting into practice.

I would LOVE to stock this tank with a rainbow shark and understand that may be a medium to long term project as I intend to plant this tank heavily and would like it well established before adding the shark.

I will be getting the actual tank in a couple of weeks and it comes with some substrate, lights and a stand. My partner bought me some big pieces of driftwood, I will be getting a hold of rocks to build some caves.

I want some tall plants, carpet plants and some floating plants too. Suggestions would be awesome.

I am thinking to initially stock the tank with a big school of harlequin rasboras (10+) and grow them out. I would l

I'll need to figure out a good aeration, filtration system to create good water movement.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 60 (permalink) Old 02-26-2018, 06:12 PM
Wannabe Guru

Congratulations on the new (upcoming) tank!

Start reading about fish compatibility. The red tails shark gets big and aggressive and if you really want one of those only certain tank mates will work.

Try to find a group of fish types that prefer the same water parameters and that are behaviorally compatible.
post #3 of 60 (permalink) Old 02-26-2018, 06:19 PM
Wannabe Guru

Rainbow sharks are usually really calm, they may chase a bit but not nothing bad, red tails are a little worse, but I've never experienced a really bad one, both are messy messy fish though, prepare for vacuuming a lot of mulm. cool fish though

If it were easy we wouldn't be here

My 30g Journal: