• 2 Post By ProndFarms
  • 2 Post By rainbowcory
  • 2 Post By Greggz

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-18-2018, 05:56 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Red face My 75 gallon journey

I have a newer low-tech 75 gallon with rainbowfish, cories, and a gourami. I'm new to the hobby and very new to planted tanks, so I appreciate any help! I feel like I have no idea what I'm doing. I'm also new to this website, so I apologize for any format issues in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-18-2018, 06:40 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

I'm having a hard time uploading images, so here's my imgur link: https://imgur.com/a/jOhHp

Story time: My dad initially had a 55 gallon that he took care of, which I liked, but didn't really know much about. Fish in his tank died pretty frequently and he never knew how to help them, so I usually jumped in to help. I realized pretty quickly that the fish weren't being taken care of properly. Small water changes were done every month or two, he was overfeeding fish to an extreme, not quarantining or looking for signs of illness, didn't test water or understand the nitrogen cycle, etc... He really didn't pay much attention to the fish and wouldn't notice when they died, which would cause ammonia spikes and more fish would die. I eventually talked with him about it and we decided it would be best if I took over the fish tank, which was just a few months ago.

I soon learned that the 55 had a long crack going up the side of it from a faulty stand, so I had to replace the tank. I upgraded the fish to a 75 and used cinderblocks and wood for a stand. I switched the substrate from painted gravel to sand for the corydoras. I took out the fake plants and started live ones. I kept some of the resin decorations because I think they'll look cool when the plants grow in more.