• 2 Post By FuryMonkey
  • 4 Post By FuryMonkey
  • 2 Post By The Dude1
  • 4 Post By Greggz

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-2018, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
A Foray Into Rainbow Fish Breeding (Pic Heavy)

Firstly, a fair warning. I am quite detail oriented (not as much as some) and a teacher by profession so expect a lot of rambling and questions.

My previous experience with aquariums was centred around an old 55 gallon community tank that I eventually planted, and the breeding of guppies in some 15 gallons.

When we bought our house I was allowed to have a big tank in the dining room - enter the 220. I've got a thread on it HERE. In short, the tank was a Walstad(ish) planted tank with a plethora of different species, including some rainbows. The tank sprung a leak a few months ago after running for about 3 years.

Admittedly due to a number of factors (losing some rainbows to illness months before, work, getting a puppy, etc) I was only doing necessary water changes and allowed the plants to take over.

While replacing the tank was an enormous amount of work, it has allowed me to rescape and focus on what I have come to love - the rainbow fish.
Greggz, Greggz, The Dude1 and 1 others like this.

Last edited by FuryMonkey; 01-30-2018 at 06:14 PM. Reason: Removed "bump" from bottom
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-2018, 06:16 PM
Wannabe Guru

Iíll follow along with this.

But I have to ask, what are the specs of the tank and stocking??

If it were easy we wouldn't be here

My 30g Journal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-2018, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

The Rescape.