ksand's 25gal journal - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-10-2004, 03:41 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
ksand's 25gal journal

As a beginner, I want to share with everyone my progress with this new 25 gal. Any suggestions and/or comments will be appreciated. My goal with this tank is to try very acidic water to see if maybe that helps with the hair algae problems which have plagued me thus far.

Here's the tank, just filled last night:

Florabase substrate, 2 65W Coralifes (5 WPG), EJ heater, Fluval 1+, Boyu diffuser, Malaysian driftwood. Noshock needle valve. Regulator and 2-way splitter from www.beveragefactory.com :

Nice bubble counter from Plant Guild, I'm not using the check valve:

And the Boyu diffuser looks pretty cool:

Calculating CO2 will be tricky, because the Florabase takes the pH down 0.4 and KH down 3. Trying Florabase for 1st time, con: it doesn't take much turbulence to kick up clouds of dust. Weird substrate, very light and dusty, almost like dusty peat pellets.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-10-2004, 06:40 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
Wow, that's some interesting equipment.

I hate acid buffer when you're trying to do CO2. Augh.

One question, why are you not using the check valve?

James
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-10-2004, 07:33 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquaverde
Why are you not using the check valve?
The CO2 tank and the aquarium sit on the same shelf, and the diffuser doesn't produce a back pressure, so I figured, what the heck, live dangerously.

Aqua, when you calc CO2 when the water parameters are affected by something like peat, etc, do you simply adjust the pH and KH up or down before you find the CO2 concentration?

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-10-2004, 08:03 PM
Doesn't like Kool-Aid

PTrader: (52/100%)
Trust us Karl, spend $15 and get a check valve!