How to take pictures of the aquarium - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 12-15-2010, 05:36 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (76/98%)
How to take pictures of the aquarium

Its quite lovely some of the pictures that are posted on this forum. I would love to be able to take pictures like that but mines all suck.

This is the camera I am using if that helps.

http://www.olympusamerica.com/cpg_se...p?id=1365&fl=4

But how do you guys take such nice pictures? Particularly shrimp. I have wonderful shrimp but I can't ever seem to get a decent pic of them

I'm not a doctor in real life but I play one on this forum

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 36 (permalink) Old 12-15-2010, 06:56 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Send a message via MSN to theDeanorama
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.tran View Post
Its quite lovely some of the pictures that are posted on this forum. I would love to be able to take pictures like that but mines all suck.

This is the camera I am using if that helps.

http://www.olympusamerica.com/cpg_se...p?id=1365&fl=4

But how do you guys take such nice pictures? Particularly shrimp. I have wonderful shrimp but I can't ever seem to get a decent pic of them
I do 2 things, I never use an on-camera flash and I always turn off the room lights. Both of these elements add distracting reflections. You may find you need a tripod, adjust your ISO as high as your willing to go before the colour noise becomes too distracting and experiment

Self proclaimed King of parentheses (I even have a crown)

+ I have a 12g nano and I'm not afraid to use it!

+ 15g rimless - to ultimately replace the 12g

+ 0.9g Pico Tank