Plans for My First Tank, an ADA 60P - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 01-04-2018, 05:03 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Plans for My First Tank, an ADA 60P

Hello everyone! I'd like to get some advice on setting up my first tank. Everyone has already been very helpful over in the introductions forum (thanks guys). I'm coming over here for some critique on the plans I have for my first tank, a 60P.

My plans are to do a basic high tech planted aquarium. I originally wanted to try a Iwagumi style aquascape, but decided it wouldn't allow me to plant as densely and diversely as would be best for my first tank. I have no experience with aquariums at all, but have been doing a lot of research on the hobby. I'm currently reading Ecology of the Planted Aquarium by Diana Walstad. While I plan to do a high tech tank, the information in the book is still informative and useful.

So currently the only things set in stone are the tank, substrate, and hardscape. I'll list them below, as well as plans for some of the rest of the parts. Most of the choices I made were made based of past threads on this site.

Have:

Tank: ADA 60P with ADA Garden Mat.
Stand: Having one made similar to the one ADA sells.
Substrate: ADA Powersand Special S, Aquasoil Amazonia (Normal 9L, plus Powder Type 3L to top it off).
Hardscape: Ohko stone and two small pieces of driftwood.
Odds and ends: A light timer, API water conditioner and Master Test Kit, tool set. KH/GH kit. Syphon pump. Drop checker, bubble counter.
Co2: Victor VTS253A Regulator, DiyRegulators build kit, 5lb tank.
Light: Finnex Ray2 Aquarium LED Daylight.
Filter: Eheim Classic External Canister Filter 2215.

Ok, so now for some questions.