9G planted nano tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-31-2017, 05:33 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
9G planted nano tank

I want to preface this entry by saying that I am complete noob, so please pardon any errors or omissions on my part. I want to say that I am highly impressed by the aquascapes that people in this community have created, so much so that I was compelled to try this out myself.

I was thinking about buying a nice,starter tank for a while so, when black Friday rolled around and I found some good deals, I pulled the trigger on an Eheim 9G nano tank.Light and filter came with the tank but I did get an Eheim adjustable heater and a thermometer. I used eco-complete as my substrate to create a contrast in the tank.

Starting up the tank was fairly easy, but this journey hasn't been without its trails and tribulations. Due to budget constraints, I couldn't invest in a high setup, but for now I think I am happy with my tank. I have a few plants in there viz. anubias nana, java fern, rosette sword and some dwarf sag and right now all in are in various states of acclimation, meaning dead brown leaves.(You might have seen my post about my java fern recently). I do use dry ferts 2x week and dose iron weekly.

For fish, I started with a school of 6 neon tetras and 2 ghost shrimp. However, that turned out to be a bad idea, the bigger of my shrimp attacked and killed a fish right in-front of my eyes. So, now I am in search of some cherry shrimp/bottom feeder that will not hunt my fish.
One of the fish bloated up, turned out it was constipated. I treated that with an Epsom salt bath and a mushed-up pea.The tank parameters are mostly stable but there are fluctuations in the nitrite levels.

I will admit that I didn't plan my aquascape through. So, I dont know where to put my java fern. Right now, its sitting behind my driftwood, kinda balding.