5 Gal Low Tech Noobpost - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By rongiz

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 12-19-2017, 07:34 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
5 Gal Low Tech Noobpost

Hello from Minnesota! I'm new to the hobby and have been working up the courage to share my tank and solicit general advice. As you can see, I haven't had any trouble starting what might someday be a very nice algae farm.

Feel free to lay into me with what I can improve upon. This is mostly a tank for me to learn the ropes of growing aquarium plants, eventually I'll no doubt go big on a tank but i don't have the room for that right now.

I've been using RO water - my city's water is superduper hard (20+dkh) and frankly i didn't want to deal with cleaning that much calcification off of my aquarium rim.

I've had this bad-boy for about a month. If you look through my post history you can find my fertilizer dosing regimen. I don't feel the need to go into it right now, but if you ask i'll gladly discuss it with you. Since I solicited help for my green hair algae i've started dosing flourish and excel. It has improved in the short term, but it looks like the brown algae is moving into its place.

My water parameters are as follows
PH- 6.8
GH- 5
KH - 0 (this is a consequence of the mr aqua soil, i'm not sure whether to fight it or just roll with it)
Ammonia - 0 ppm
Nitrite - 0 ppm
Nitrate - 0 ppm (I am considering increasing my KNO3 dosing but i'm worried that my algae will enjoy that too much)
I don't have any phosphate testing kits, but am considering stopping by the LFS to grab one