29 Gal Semi-Dutch Attempt - The Planted Tank Forum
 16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 49 (permalink) Old 09-09-2017, 08:40 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
29 Gal Semi-Dutch Attempt

This is a journal for my first ever planted tank. I've been keeping fish for about 10 years but I've been itching to try a "high tech" tank.

Disclaimer: I'm doing this mostly to track my own progress, keep myself accountable for updates, and to get feedback from the community. I'm probably making a ton of mistakes and PLEASE let me know if you spot any red flags. Thanks

Plants

Bought all of them from AquariumPlants.com, and they arrived in wonderful condition (except for Rotala Macrandra - got crushed and is looking sorry). Used UPS Next Day Air. After three days I have yet to see a single snail so here's to hoping I lucked out.

And just so you know exactly what plants I have and where they're located:

1: Lloydiella golden (Lysimachia nummularia var. 'Aurea')
2: Java fern
3: Water wisteria
4: Anubias barteri var. nana 'narrow leaf'
5: Riccia fluitans (tied to terra cotta pot bottoms)
6: Ludwigia peruensis
7. Cabomba carolina (green)
8: Echinodorus parviflorus 'tropica'
9: Rotala macrandra
10: Bacopa australis

Fertilizers
I'm trying to go slow with the ferts - I'd prefer to avoid an algae bloom (hence the short photoperiod). So far, I have dosed:
One dose of Seachem Flourish Comprehensive
Half dose of Seachem Trace
20ppm of K (via dry K2SO4)

I know I'll probably have to add iron for the reds, so that'll be my next addition.

Lighting/CO2 Schedule
Both run for 6 hours a day, with the CO2 starting one hour before the lights turn on.
~3-4 bubbles per second

Substrate
Organic potting soil (1.5")
Standard play sand (1.5")

Tank has been cycling (fishless) for about a month. I do a 30% WC when the nitrates get past 20ppm. I know the nitrites are high, but I'm hoping to build up that bacterial colony some more.
Ammonia: 0
Nitrites: 1-2ppm