3Likes
  • 2 Post By viverridae
  • 4 Post By The Dude1

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-19-2017, 04:01 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
20g Dwarf Puffer Biotope

I had a 10 gallon planted tank a couple years ago, that unfortunately needed to come down before I moved out of state. Now that I'm all settled, I'd like to get back into the hobby! I kept dwarf puffers briefly, and they were a delight <3 I'm hoping to try my hand at a biotope aquarium this time around.

I wanted to save up for a nice CO2 system, but that will be further down the road. For now, I'm just going to dose with Excel (+ dry or liquid ferts)...and maybe keep it that way if I don't end up needing anything more. Which I might not. I think I'd like the option of transitioning to a high-tech tank, but more realistically - I'm a poor grad student, ahah.

I would very much welcome any comments/suggestions/critiques/"Hey you missed this" Thanks for reading along!

Tank: 20 gallon long - 30.5"L x 13.125"W x 13.0"H
Canister Filter: I've used HOB filters previously, but want to try a canister filter this time. Tentatively considering an Eheim 2211 (Also looking at Hydor or Fluval - I'm open to recommendations!). Does anyone know the inflow and outflow dimensions of the Eheim 2211? I'm having trouble finding a definite number, for some reason.
Inline Heater: Hydor 200w
Lighting: Finnex Planted+ 24/7. I used the Planted+ on my previous tank, and it did a nice job - curious to try out the 24/7! It should be good enough for medium-light plants, yeah? About 10 inches above the substrate?
Substrate: EcoComplete or Flourite, approx. 30 lbs. (in red?), with Osmocote root tabs. Not sure if one would look better or more biotope accurate than the other.

Fauna: 3 - 4 dwarf puffers (one male and two or three females)
Flora: A lot. I think I had trouble with my last tank because I didn't have enough plants, and was too enthusiastic about dosing ferts.