Freshwater1's 30 Gallon Low-light Tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-31-2017, 06:18 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Freshwater1's 30 Gallon Low-light Tank

I said that I would post a tank thread a while back, so here we go. This tank is a cumulation of my planted tank experiences. I've been running this tank for 5 years, and after going through many high light phases, where the tank was stem plant city, as well as some trials with low light, I think I've found the sweet spot with what I like: many Microsorum and Bucephalandra, some Anubias, and a moderate amount of Cryptocoryne. Echinodorus has been hard to deal with in this tank, mainly due to its sizable frame. Here's the tank specifications:

Lighting: Finnex Planted+ 24/7 dimmed

Filtration: Eheim 2215 (currently using an Eheim 2213; I'll be upgrading here soon)

Additional Water Flow: Hydor Centrifugal Pump (160 GPH flow)

Tank Size: 36" x 12" x 16" (approximate)

CO2: Green Leaf Aquarium GRO CO2 system, Rex Griggs CO2 reactor

Fertilization: PPS-Pro, root tabs

Maintenance: Weekly 30% water change, weekly trimming (varies at times), weekly glass cleanings, and monthly filter cleanings.

Fish Stock: 7 Harlequin Rasboras, 6 Cherry Barbs, 5 Kuhli Loaches, 1 Panda Garra (will be adding additional Harlequin Rasboras, Cherry Barbs; Corydoras and some Killifish will be added as well)

Plant Stock (subject to additions): Microsorum pteropus var. "Thor's Hammer"
Microsorum pteropus "Needle Leaf"
Microsorum sp. Thunder Leaf
Microsorum sp. Ishikawa Island
Microsorum pteropus "Trident"
Anubias nana "pinto"
Anubias nana "petite"
Bucephalandra sp. Apple Leaf
Bucephalandra sp. Green Wave
Bucephalandra sp. Emerald
Bucephalandra sp. Brownie Hermes
Bucephalandra sp. Hades
Bucephalandra sp. Royal Blue
Dwarf Sag
Crypt parva
Crypt wendtii "Green Gecko"
Crypt nurii "Rosen Maiden"
Crypt wendtii "Bronze"
Crypt pontederiifolia