My first try at planted tanks (56k warning, pics>>1Mb) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-11-2004, 09:10 PM Thread Starter
baj
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)
My first try at planted tanks (56k warning, pics>>1Mb)

Hi,
Just wanted to get your suggestions on improving this tank, this is my first attempt at an "aquascaped" planted tank.
This is when I first set it up, 30th sept 2004:

And here is the latest picture, 7th nov 2004:

The P Gayii has wilted away for some reason, so its getting the boot. I am thinking of leaving the lower stems in the substrate, is there a hope that it will rebound?
The tank is an 18g tall, with only about 10" of depth, so I dont have the freedom I would have liked to create a terraced effect, but its tall so I am trying to use the height to create an illusion of depth, not sure if I have achieved it. My plan is to have the stargrass in the middle-back fill out and then prune it low, and have the space behind the stargrass fill out with some tall plants. Any suggestions on improving the tank is greatly appreciated.

Last edited by baj; 12-07-2004 at 08:31 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-12-2004, 03:02 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by baj
The P Gayii has wilted away for some reason, so its getting the boot. I am thinking of leaving the lower stems in the substrate, is there a hope that it will rebound?
Can't speak for that species in particular, but I frequently hack many stem plants down to an inch or so (from the substrate) and they always grow back (provided they don't get shaded). I've done this with hygro, ludwigia, and even red temple. This is especially important for the red temple because it does not maintain its leaves as well as the other two species.