• 4 Post By Rhenerie
  • 2 Post By richie_brave
  • 2 Post By limeslide

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-22-2017, 04:24 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Tank with limited availability of supplies

Hello to all experienced members of this forum. A little background about my experience and situation. I am fairly new to aquatic tanks. I have a non-planted 90 gallon (48x24x18 inches) tank since 2 years. I have been silent reader of plantedtank.net since last 2 years. Knowledge on this forum is the main attraction for me towards planted tank.

Planted tanks are very uncommon in my country, Pakistan. The only aquatic plants I can buy are Amazon swords and Anubias nana. Very occasionally we get some carpet plants from Thailand. Chemical of N, P, K are not available or sold separately due to risk of being used in explosives. My only option is to either use dirted tank OR use growmore water soluble fertilization (http://www.growmore.com/products/typ...ertilizer.html). I am using 20 20 20 solution as thats the only product available here

These beautiful lush green planted tanks were becoming an obsession for me. So just to experiment what I can manage in this limited availability of things, I finally ordered some items from AliExpress. I am not too optimistic that things will turn out good but I need help like Tips and suggestions to make this into something.

The method of planting and setup is not one of best practices used in this hobby. But I had to try different in trying to achieve something with what I have available.

I received following items about 2 months ago.

1 - Aquatic plant seeds (some sort of grass seeds and probably glosso seeds).
2 - Chichiros 45cm light
3 - DIY CO2 setup

Lighting on below setup is a 13 watt Philips 6500K LED bulb. Chichiros was used on 10 Gallon setup coming below.

Day 0: