120 Gallon - High Tech Planted Tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-16-2017, 03:43 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
120 Gallon - High Tech Planted Tank

Soo.... I am in the process of starting my first big tank. I'm new to the hobby (~3 months), but it has completely taken me over. It's all just so fasinating. My only tank ever is a fish only 20 gallon tank which makes this a huge next project, but I've been doing my research and have read hours upon hours of information out there. Not to mention all the YouTube videos and podcasts I've listened to that have inspired me. It is going to take some time for it all to come together (and $$$), and I would really like to hear all of your comments, feedback and suggestions as I make this journey. I know I could use some help from the more experienced people out there.

This is what I have so far:
- 120 gallon 60x18x26 (LxWxH) Marineland tank
- 60 pounds Ohko Stone (Dragon Stone)
- Two manzanita driftwood branches

What I plan to buy:
- Fluval FX6 canister filter
- 2 Fluval Fresh and Plant 2.0 LED 48in (I would like to only get 1, but I think 2 is a must if I want to grow carpeting plants at 24 inches)
- Finnex 500w titanium heater with controller
- 9 bags (180 pounds) of CaribSea Ecocomplete for an average 3 inch substrate
- 20 pound CO2 tank from local welding supply store
- GLA GRO CO2 regulator
- CAL AQUA pearl drop checker
- NilocG Rex Griggs style CO2 reactor advanced version with bypass valve
- DIY tank stand and canopy
- Another good piece of driftwood

Next on my to do list is to build the stand and canopy. My dad and I are going to do it together, so I'm looking forward to spending some time with him. It should be fun.

Here are a few pics...