• 2 Post By Jawnwin
  • 2 Post By Jawnwin

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-22-2016, 08:15 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
20L First Tank Iwagumi

Hey everyone!

So to start off my name is john and I came from a background of raising piranhas. I eventually stop due to the cost of feeding them and the amount of time I had to put on the side for crazy maintenance since they made such a mess, of course I'm not saying this is any easier. I'm pretty sure I fell into the trap when I googled "planted tank" and found Mr Takashi Amano's work *RIP*. It was mainly the simple minimalist iwagumi set ups that I found on google that amazes me. Other than that I decided to do some HEAVY research on this forum and so grateful to my girlfriend for supporting me with my many many hobbies haha. So I am new to this hobby and if there's anything wrong I mean anything wrong PLEASE tell me. I'm also a typical broke college student as well haha but I did manage to save some money for most of the equipment woohoo!

Tank- 20L from the lovely 1$1G petco sale 20$
Stand- Petco Brooklyn stand 37$
Filtration- Penn Plax 500 Cascade 50$ Discounted with amazon gift card 50$ = FREE
Lighting- Finnex Planted+ 24/7 90$ thanks to my lovely girlfriend = FREE.....
Substrate- Lava rock 7lb crushed bottom layer 7$
Substrate- Fluval Stratum 17.8lb 38$
Furniture- Ohko Stone 17lb I don't remember the price
CO2-Tippman 24oz Paintball CO2 tank 24$
Aquatek CO2 mini regulator 85$
Aquatek 3 in 1 diffuser 15$
Aquatek CO2 tubing 10$
Cheap china co2 reader 15$
Plants- S.Repens, Micranthemum & Frogbits thanks to the RAOK of tangelo1106 and of course my #1 fan GF with the S repens and monte carlos

grand total of 250$ maybe 300$ with all of the other stuff like tweezers and plants