12g Edge, newbie ish. - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By parkinsn83

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-09-2016, 06:12 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
12g Edge, newbie ish.

Hello All, I'll start with an intro and a tank journal.

I've been keeping fish for 20 years or so now. I've kept everything between community, cichlids, to salt water from 10 gallon to 200+ gallons. I've never had a planted tank before, I'd like to use this tank as a trial to see if I want my new tank to be planted discus, or salt water. New tank is 84"L-36"W-30"H (392 gallon) external overflow, with sump 72"L-24"W-18"H (150 gallon)

I've been lurking and reading for quite some time here and this is what I've come up with.

Equipment;

12 gallon Fluval edge with 42 LED
50w Ebo Jager heater
Fluval 206 canister filter
Fluval co2 88 (possibly, need opinions)
Tunze ATO (because why not)

Livestock combination of, not all listed;

Small group of tetras of some kind.
Guppies (not my choice, happy wife happy life right?)
Frucata rainbows
Galaxy rasbora
Cherry or red crystal shrimp

Flora;

Java Moss Tree
HC Cuba
Anubias nana
dwarf grass
Amazon sword
Need to look at some other taller plants for the background, suggestions welcome.

On to my questions for the experts.

1) Is the 42 LED good enough for the plants listed? In an effort to keep the tank stock looking except the filter which I will drill out the bottom for, I don't really want to mod the canopy. I have a Radion XR30 pro I could use but this will wreck the aesthetics of it.

2) Fluval co2 88, I'd like to run this 24/7. The plan is keep it in the back of the "base stand up cover part" not having the stock filter should make this doable. I'd like to avoid having to turning it off at night with the lights. Put an air stone a timer to come on at night, foreseeable problems with this? Any problems with this unit? I don't really want to piss around with a DIY yeast sugar.