2Likes
  • 2 Post By tlarsen
  • 2 Post By Nlewis

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-30-2016, 08:05 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
75G transition DIY to pressurized

I've been browsing this site for a few years, but am new to posting. Having seen so many beautiful and inspiring tanks here, thought it would be fun to jump in. Really glad to keep learning from everyone. Here's a 75G I've had for 4 years.

Aqueon 75G
Light: Marineland planted LED
Filtration: Fluval 406
CO2: DIY (2 3-L botles) with ISTA reactor run by Maxi-jet powerhead
Substrate: Ecocomplete capped with torpedo beach
Malaysian driftwood

Flora: Myriophyllum mattogrossense, Ludwigia palustris, Heteranthera zosterifolia, Crypt walkeri lutea, Crypt parva, Crypt wendti 'red', Rotala wallichii, Pogostemon helferi, Bacopa australis, Vallisneria americana var. biwaensis, Cabomba furcata, Staurogyne repens, Hemianthes callitrichoides, Microsorium pteropus v windelov, Anubias nana petite

Fauna: Red cherry shrimp, celestial pearl danio, neon tetra, glass bloodfin tetra, marbled hatchetfish, Otocinclus, panda cory

Sadly, I finally lost the battle with BGA/cyanobacteria. After trying everything (strong circulation, huge water changes, nitrates, etc), including heavy dose of erythromycin, I just hauled everything out, replaced the substrate, and am starting from scratch with pressurized CO2. Should be refreshingly reliable after DIY for so long. Will update as the new tank is set up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_THL2425 sm2.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	102.4 KB
ID:	676473  

BBogdan and BBogdan like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-02-2016, 10:16 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower