Newbie here with first (10g) and second (20g) tank! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-30-2016, 04:02 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newbie here with first (10g) and second (20g) tank!

Hey everyone!

I just want to share my first and second planted tank with everyone! I am new to aquariums, and any help you guys could provide will be highly appreciated!

First of all, the 10 gallon:

Version 1.0
I had absolutely no idea what I was doing AT ALL, but now I can look back and laugh at my mistakes, and entertain you guys as well.
Mistake 1: Gotta rinse of the gel off the glosso, and separate them before planting!!!! Knowing nothing, I just shoved the whole round clump, roots and gel, into the soil. Needless to say, it attempted to float away, and took me ages to get it half secured to the soil.
Mistake 2: Gotta remove the wire mesh off the bottom of the moss! Those 2 clumps of moss on the right are still attached to the wire mesh, probably a BAD idea...
Mistake 3: Let's just say the first 11 Cherry Reds were NOT happy about the uncycled tank and no water changes for the first few days (I swear I read somewhere it was 25% every week or 2)

Version 2.0
This time round, I fixed my glosso mistake, I removed the mesh wire from the moss. I was proud of my *ahem* very artistic arc de triumphe (more like arc de failure).
Mistake 1: Check plants for snails. Seriously, about 20 tiny snails popped up over night after about a week!!!! Must have smuggled in on that moss that was pretied to the wood.
Mistake 2: I still didn't learn that super frequent water changes are required for cycling tanks. These shrimps too were not happy, and eventually they went swimming with the fishes, if you'll forgive the pun.
Mistake 3: Morning sunlight is still sunlight! Sunlight BAD! After about 10 days (no water changes), the tank was practically green inside from hairy green algae.

Version 3.0