60g rimless transformation - The Planted Tank Forum
 7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-24-2016, 07:06 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
60g rimless transformation

Hello! I'm a noob here. I have been into aquariums for about 35 years. This will be my first planted aquarium. I have a tank I propose to use. I will throw my ideas out there and welcome everyone's 2 cents. It's the best way to learn.

• My tank is a 48"lx24"wx12h rimless reef tank with built in overflow.
  • I have LED's hanging above. The white light is dimable and can be put on timers.
  • My initial idea was to use the overflow to feed a 20g sump with polyester batting, lava rock, and crushed coral. The return pump would be a Jebao Model DC-3000 Max Flow 794 GPH (3000 LPH) Max Head 8.9 ft. It is a fully controllable pump. I would include a Jebao RW Series Wavemaker with controller. BUT, I have a FLUVAL 406 Canister Filter and 2 Penguin Biowheel 330's. I prefer the ease of the sump and don't want HOB filters. I think the sump with the Fluval as a polisher would do great. Yes?
  • The substrate will be either potting soil or Seachem Flourite Planted Aquarium Substrate. I will be using RODI wastewater to do water changes, while topping off with RODI water. I want to fertilize as little as possible and keep it as low maintenance as possible. I realize I have to keep to the shorter plant varieties.
  • I like the idea of small schooling fish and lush plantings. Snails, shrimp, and what ever else that will work. I also like the idea of some plants growing out of the tank in strategic corners, so as to not block the light. Unless you have any cool ideas.
I am reading as much as I can but I will get going on this in the next few weeks. Please jump in with your ideas, I welcome them all.

Here is a pic of my tank as a reef...

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-24-2016, 07:28 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (52/100%)