Dou's ADA 60P - The Planted Tank Forum
 51Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 06-15-2016, 07:53 AM Thread Starter
Dou
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Dou's ADA 60P

Hi everyone – I’m relatively new to the hobby but I’m absolutely addicted. Seeing everyone’s tank journals here is especially inspiring and one day I would like to set up a large tank as well (when I can afford a larger home…). Until then, apartment restriction says the largest tank I can have is 30G. So I went for the ADA 60P (17G). There was a lot of trial and error, algae outbreaks, melting plants, death of fauna but overall this has been an extremely fun experience. My eventual next steps are to increase slopes and fill in with more red plants/add rocks to create better contrast. Feedback always welcome!

Progress Photos from the Beginning – this was my initial layout. Eventually it got to the point where I wanted to switch things up as I had learned a lot. It was a huge undertaking but I essentially moved substrate from the back right side up to the front.

** Updated .GIF 2016/07/04**

Right before the trim & move. Quite filled in but I wasn’t quite satisfied with the right side. I had delayed getting a pair of scissors until this moment.

A couple weeks after the trim & move. It was quite the undertaking and 90% of the time I was thinking to myself – what have I done. Substrate was kicked up, everything seemed like it was mixing together… But in the end, I think it’ll look great once everything starts filling in again.

Decided to rescape a bit again as I was not completely happy. More additions/removals coming soon...

The more additions

Bonus picture of my den x)

2016/07/04

--- TANK DETAILS ---

Hardware & Layout:
ADA 60P
Eheim 2215 Canister Filter
Do!Aqua Lily Pipes
Wooden Air Diffuser
Marina 150W Heater
Milwaukee Regulator+Solenoid
Spiderwood
ADA Amazonia
ADA Colorado Sand
River Pebbles
Yamaya & Koke Rocks
Chihiros Doctor LED Light

Fish/Fauna: