Experimental 40g - The Planted Tank Forum
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-10-2016, 03:50 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Experimental 40g

So I am starting up an empty 40g that has sat in my room for probably 2 years.... I have never worked with a capped planted tank before so what I did first was (I live on a farm) go out to the field where the livestock corrals are cleaned out and left to mature to spread on the next years crops or the garden and I grabbed myself about a full 5g pail full of nice moist matured soil made from broken down manure, feed, and bedding and lay a nice 3" thick bed in the bottom of the tank

Now that I have a good thick base layer down I went outside and had a bag and a half left over play sand from my 130g prepared the sand and made a nice even cap on top of the soil and packed it down a little bit

Now I have a fluval G3 settling the tank and 2 50w heaters it's all running and we will see how well the water clears as it looks like watered down chocolate milk right now I plan on moving my diy paintball co2 system to the 40g after I get a 10lb bottle for my main tank. For right now all I have is a 30" power glo 25w t8... Which will be changed out for a 36" 54wx2 t5 HO AQUATIC LIFE fixture... As for plants I want a crazy carpet something with deep roots as I have aprox 2.5" of play sand cap... Want to maybe try to make a crazy scene from skyrim

130G tank, DIY paintball co2 injection, inline co2 reactor, Eheim 2217,fluval g6 Eheim pimp #437, 2x 54w 48" aquaticlife T5HO 3 300w heater, 3 bags play sand java fern, Microsorum pteropus 'narrow', Cryptocoryne wendtii 'tropica', Anubias barteri (nana,) Hygrophila difformis (wisteria), Sagittaria platyphylla, Rotala indica (Rotala roundifolia), Amazon sword 3 bala shark, 3 clown loach, 8 ottos, Red tailed black shark, 3 swordtails, Malasian trumpet snails

The Fraternity of Dirt #181
Sponsored Links
Advertisement