Reginald2's 50 - The Final Update - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-10-2010, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
Reginald2's 50 - The Final Update

I've had this odd tank floating around in storage for better than a decade. It has a little sump-type thing built into the back, that takes up a little more than its share of room. I think it may have been a forerunner for the more modern biocube/nanocube type of thing. I bought it at my very first job, due to a ridiculous sale, many many moons ago in a land far far away.

This is my third planted tank, preceded by a 20 gallon hex (my learning tank) and a jbj picotope that I've really enjoyed. This is also my first high-tech tank, but i hope to transition it to lower-ish-type tech on down the road.

I am fairly new to all of this, so this is mostly an experiment to see if I can get plants to grow in here. I believe I set up the tank right at the middle or end of January. Excuse the pictures, right now it is diatoming pretty hard. I don't think that I am terribly concerned about that as it is a new tank, and I'm hoping it is just a phase. I hope it isn't a flow problem, I think it is starting to die off, so I'm going to hold off my freak out for a few more weeks.

Tank: 50 gallon "System II" -actually probably closer to 40 gallons 36*15*20 (or so)
Filtration: see Tank
Lighting: 4*39 Nova Extreme 8 hours at 78 watts with a 2 hour 156 watt burst
CO2: 5lbs rocking 2-4bps (how do you count that fast?) -seems to keep the drop checker a happy shade of green-yellow
Fertz: EI for 20-40 gallon
Substrate: dirt capped with an eco complete/ red flourite mix (it sounded like it would look nicer than it did)

Plants:
Hygrophila difformis
Lilaeopsis brasiliensis
Pennywort
Echinodorus tenellus
Microsorum pteropus
Vesicularia dubyana
Vesicularia montagnei
Rotala Indica
Hemianthus micranthemoides
Cabomba carolina
Vallisneria spiralis