26 gallon Bowfront planted by CanadianMatt - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 03-06-2010, 09:52 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
26 gallon Bowfront planted by CanadianMatt

Alrighty folks, I'm new to the forum but to keep myself entertained during the waiting game I wanted to do a Journal of my progress as well as be more active in the community.

About myself, well I'm a 28 year old Male living in Chicago and I have wanted to have a really nice aquarium for years. Now that I've lived in one place for 2 years and don't appear to be going anywhere it seems to be a good time to get my start. I am a newbie but I have spent the last month or so reading websites, articles, books, and reviews and I'm feeling pretty good about everything. Experience of course is the best teacher so here we go!!!!

I went out and bought everything I needed to get started. My goals was to stay under the $500 mark for my first tank at least initially. I went with the Aqueon 26 bowfront kit package that includes the hood, heater, and filter. I know this isn't the ideal way to get started and everyone says you're wasting your money doing it this way but for me I think it's a good way to get started as I'm very impatient. I know, patience is very important in this hobby. Well, I got it anyway and it was on sale for $99 dollars at Petsmart so the way I see it I'm out what $40 dollars when I replace the heater and filter and lights for better equipment.

Okay so yes, I have every intention of making this my money pit for the next few months. Lets get this tank established first though and then we'll talk equipment. Next step, setting it all up....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 03-06-2010, 10:24 PM
FSM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)
If you aren't going to run a CO2 system, $500 is a ton more than you need to spend.