new tank setup, any thoughts, comments?? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-11-2010, 02:37 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
new tank setup, any thoughts, comments??

hello all , im new to planted tanks. Ive been in the hobby for close to ten years now, and like many other have decided that i hate fake plants and decorations, and want the look of a real natural looking tank, how else to acomplish this than by using real and natural plants and decorations.

I have a 30 gallon long aquarium. as for my setup.

I use a hob penguin emporer 280, and 2 aquaclear 50 powerheads on an rfugf.( ive been told not to run the rfugf, but i have no problem of it up rooting plants and the plate is only half length of tank, centered).

After a few trips to the lfs and home depot , put a custom light fixture I built on top that houses 2 24'' t5 power glow bulbs, putting out 1.6 watts per gallon.

As far as substrate, Im using a mix of seachem flourite, and seachem onyx sand, its actually a very nice looking mix of red black.

I got myself the full line of seachem liquid ferts( flourish, excell, trace, iron, nitrogen, potassium, and phosphorus), i wanted to go dry ferts, but this is just easier at the time. Ive only been using the flourish,excell and trace so far. The others say to use only if you see signs of need. although i was gonna start dosing the 3 macros once a week, just to add some more nutrients.

The tank had cycled for a week and i added 2 upright peices of driftwood( on the ends) and a nice big chunky peice( in the center). after that i added 2 agrentine swords. 1 java fern( attached to wood). 1 dwarf anubias(attached to wood). 1 anacheris(elodia). and one moss ball( i think its java moss rolled into a ball held with fishing line, lfs was selling for 1.99, thought it looked cool) it floats and is held down by a small peice of line attached to a sinker.